York County Department of Parks & Recreation

Get your tickets now for our annual light show at Rocky Ridge, Christmas Magic - A Festival of Lights ChristmasMagicYork.com.

Online Pavilion Rental System


In 1968, the Board of Commissioners for York County established the York County Parks Department to provide the community with a wide variety of activities and to acquire, develop, maintain and preserve lands for future generations to enjoy. Today, we currently maintain over 4,300 acres of parkland in 11 county parks for your enjoyment throughout the county. For more information about the history of York County Parks and more about us, click here. 

For safety, the parks have all the necessary disinfectants, as well as water to drink pills if you need.


Park hours are dawn to dusk, with the exception of special events and fishing at William Kain Park. 

Park Office: 

John Rudy County Park Administrative Building is located at 400 Mundis Race Road, York, PA, 17406. Hours are Monday - Friday, 8:00am - 4:30pm, closed daily from 12:30-1:00pm for lunch. The office is closed on holidays. Contact the parks office at 717-840-7440 or at parks@old.yorkcountypa.gov

Nixon Park Nature Center: 

Nixon Park Nature Center is located at 5922 Nixon Drive, York, PA 17403, Hours are Tuesday - Saturday, 8:30am - 4:30pm and Sunday, 12:00-4:30pm. The nature center is closed on Mondays and holidays. Contact the Nixon Park Nature Center at 717-428-1961 or at nixoncountypark@old.yorkcountypa.gov.

Park Rangers: 

Park Rangers can be reached by calling 717-840-7440, option 3 or by calling 911 and asking for a Park Ranger. 

Administrative Staff

Michael E. Fobes           Parks Director                               (717) 840-7228

Teddy Fisher                  Assistant Director                         (717) 840-7227

Kelsey A. Frey             Mgr. of Education & Outreach       (717) 428-1961

Barry L. Myers            Director of Public Works                 (717) 840-7230

Joshua Dewees      Assistant Director of Public Works     (717) 840-7610

Grant Gouker              Asst. Supt. of Bldgs.& Grounds          (717) 840-7610

Nancy Heiser                   Naturalist II                                    (717) 840-7226 

Josh Detweiler                     Naturalist II                                    (717) 428-1961

Brandon Pentz                    Naturalist II                                    (717) 428-1961

Hali Stough                 Administrative Assistant                       (717) 840-7440

Fern Weaver               Administrative Support                          (717) 840-7440

George Erskine             Chief Ranger                                     (717) 840-7229


York County Advisory Board of Parks and Recreation Board Members

Chairperson - Joshua Bean,  Vice Chair - Brian Addison, Secretary - Matt Dubbs, Lyndi Ilies, Kimberly Hogeman, David Morgan, Bernice Quesenberry, Zach Zimmerman and Jeffery Hortman. 

Liaison to the Parks Board: Commissioner Ron Smith


York County Parks Foundation Charitable Trust Board of Trustees

President - Timothy E. Senft, Vice President - George "Skip" Lehmann, Secretary - Linda Davidson,  Treasurer - Steven Ricklefs, Rick Cooper, Tammy Klunk, Milton J. Menchey, Michael Russo, Bobby Kinsley.


York County Parks Emeritus Board

George “Skip” Lehmann - Honorary Chairman


Annual Reports

2019 Annual Report

2018 Annual Report

2017 Annual Report


Click on the videos listed below to learn more about the York County Parks!

The York County Planning Commissions  History of the Parks' last 50 years!

Another look at the  History of the York County Parks!

"The 2018 recipient of our Community Award"